

60 Community Drive | Augusta, ME 04330-9486 1-800-452-8786 (in state) | (t) 207-623-8428

To: Key Municipal Officials of MMA Member Municipalities

From: MMA Nominating Committee

Chair Elaine Aloes, MMA Immediate Past President (Selectperson, Town of Solon)

Laurie Smith, Past President (Town Manager, Town of Kennebunkport)

Mark Dion, Elected Municipal Official (Mayor, City of Portland)

Dwayne Young, Town/City Manager (Town Manager, Town of Weston)

Teresa Cloutier, Community-Based Organization (Equality ME)

Kerry Leichtman, Municipal Employee (Assessor, Towns of Camden & Rockport)

Jack Clukey, Affiliate Group (MTCMA Board Member)

Date: May 24, 2024

Subject: Proposed Slate for 2025 MMA Vice President & Executive Committee Members

The MMA Nominating Committee is pleased to put forth the <u>Proposed Slate for MMA Vice President and Executive</u> <u>Committee Members</u> to serve on the MMA Executive Committee.

As a reminder, the MMA Executive Committee is the governing body of the Maine Municipal Association and is made up of three officers and nine members. The officers are elected to serve one-year terms and the members are elected to serve staggered three-year terms. All candidates put forth for your consideration meet all qualifications required by the MMA bylaws to serve in their specified role in which they are nominated for.

NOMINEE FOR MMA VICE PRESIDENT

Justin Poirier

NOMINEES FOR MMA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Accordingly, the Nominating Committee has proposed the following candidate continue to serve as an MMA Executive Committee member for a second consecutive three-year term (January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2027):

David Cyr

The Nominating Committee has proposed the following candidates to serve as <u>new</u> MMA Executive Committee members for full three-year terms (January 1, 2025 – December 31, 2027):

Michele Varuolo Cole

Matthew Garside



Municipal officials who will advance or continue to serve their respective terms on the MMA Executive Committee include:

Officers Serving a 1-year term ending December 31, 2025

President: Melissa Doane, Town Manager, Town of Bradley

Immediate Past President: Diane Hines, Town Manager, Town of Ludlow

Members:

Serving 3-year terms ending December 31, 2025

Phil Crowell, City Manager, City of Auburn David Nadeau, Councilor, Town of Windham Anthony Ward Town Manager, Town of Casco

Serving 3-year terms ending December 31, 2026

Terry Helms, Selectperson, Town of Grand Isle Shiloh LaFreniere, Town Manager, Town of Jay Dina Walker, Selectperson, Town of Weld

PETITION PROCESS

Nominations may also be made by Petition signed by a majority of the municipal officers in each of at least five (5) member municipalities. Such petitions must be filed with the MMA Executive Director no later than 40 days prior to the date of the Annual Election. Accordingly, the deadline for Nominations by Petition is <u>4:30 p.m. on Monday</u>, <u>July 15, 2024</u>. Keep in mind that a candidate for the Executive Committee must be a municipal officer (a selectperson or councilor of a town; a mayor, alderman or councilor of a city); a city or town manager; or the chief appointed administrative official of a member municipality. A candidate for vice president must have served on the MMA Executive Committee for at least one year within the past five years.

ELECTION PROCESS

Once the petition process is complete on July 15th, the official VOTING BALLOT will be mailed to each member municipality for municipal officials to cast their vote. The Voting Ballot will include the Proposed Slate as recommended by the MMA Nominating Committee and any successful petition candidate. The Voting Ballots will be counted under the direction of the MMA President Diane Hines, Town Manager of the Town of Ludlow on Friday, August 23, 2024.

The following is a direct link to the MMA's website where you can access up to date information on the MMA Nomination, Petition & Election Process: https://www.memun.org/About/Governance/Nomination-Petition-Election-Process.

If you have any questions or would like additional information regarding the nomination, petition and election process, please visit the MMA website at www.memun.org or contact Kelly Maines at 1-800-452-8786 ext. 2241 or by e-mail at kmaines@memun.org.