(from the December 2009 Maine Townsman)

Bangor City Manager Edward Barrett was unanimously selected in early December by the Lewiston City Council to become the new city administrator. Barrett, 62, has managed Bangor for 22 years and plans to assume his new duties in Maine’s second-largest city in January. The Lewiston City Council quickly recruited Barrett late in the hiring process after learning that the Bangor City Council was not planning to renew Barrett’s employment contract when it expired next spring. Meanwhile, the Bangor City Council is seeking proposals from 40 private firms to find a new manager and say the process will take several months.

Rumford selectmen have named a town park after former Selectman J. Eugene Boivin for his many years of civic and community service. Boivin, who has been ill, was lauded for his selfless dedication to the mill town and the countless events and efforts he has spearheaded over a long career.

The Biddeford City Council extended the employment contract of City Manager John Bubier for another three years in November. Bubier will not receive a pay raise for the current year and the council has directed all other municipal employees to forego a raise this year.

Brewer Fire Chief Richard Bronson Jr. will retire next March, ending a 35-year career with the department, including the last 11 as chief. Bronson was elected city councilor in nearby Bangor in November and said he looked forward to doing “other things“ once retired.

Bowdoinham has lost the service of both a selectman and its part-time economic and community development director. Selectman Stephen Ciembroniewicz resigned effective November 17 after being hired as principal of a local elementary school. Also in November, Tony Cox gave notice that he was resigning from his part-time development director post. Cox was credited with putting Bowdoinham “on the map,” while Ciembroniewicz said he intends to remain active in the community.

The late Robert Dodge, former economic and community development director for the City of Biddeford, who died in February at the age of 63, will be honored by having a city business park renamed for him. Dodge worked for the city for more than 30 years and helped develop and fill the city’s four industrial and business parks.

Strong Fire Chief Scott Dyar has accepted a papermaking job in Longview, Texas, leaving his volunteer top job open for the first time in five years. In all, Dyar worked for the town’s fire department for 17 years. A new fire chief will be elected by voters at next spring’s annual town meeting.

Joseph Loughlin, longtime Portland assistant police chief, will retire December 30 after almost 30 years with the department. Assistant chief since 2006, Loughlin said he wants to write and teach after leaving public office. The city has opened a national search for his replacement and will take applications until mid-January.

Hallowell councilors named Todd Shea as full-time city manager in early December after Shea served as interim manager since November 2008, when then-manager David Giroux suffered a stroke. The vote was unanimous. Shea will continue his work as code enforcement officer, a job he has held since 2007, in addition to the manager’s duties, until a replacement is hired.

Presque Isle City Manager Thomas Stevens has been named an area director for the USDA Rural Development program, effective January 11. Stevens’ area of work will include Aroostook and Washington counties, as well as parts of Penobscot County.

Enfield Town Manager Theresa Thurlow has announced she will retire next July 1, although she intends to continue her work as the town’s code enforcement officer after that time. Meanwhile, Tax Collector and Deputy Town Clerk Dawn Chubbuck also will retire, effective next July, after working for the town in a number of different capacities over 28 years.

A fundraising dance and supper was held in mid-December to help Wilton volunteer firefighter Michael Warren, who has been diagnosed with colon cancer. Warren, 36, works for Northeast Emergency Apparatus in Auburn and is expected to be out of work until next spring. He has been a volunteer firefighter for 21 years.

More November 3 election results (not covered in last month’s issue):

Incumbent Houlton Town Councilor Nancy Ketch collected the most votes in a three-way race for two council seats with 1,596 votes. Newcomer Frederick Grant placed second with 1,482 votes, while former Councilor Phil Bernaiche garnered 716 votes.

Sharri MacDonald and Shawn O’Neill defeated challenger William Danton to retain their town council seats in Old Orchard Beach. MacDonald received 2,755 votes and O’Neill won 2,642 votes, while Danton received 1,285 votes.

Sanford voters returned Anne-Marie Mastraccio to office with 3,116 votes in a five-way race for three town council seats. However, incumbent Maura Herlihy was defeated with just 2,736 votes, compared to Alan Walsh and Richard Wilkins who won the two other open seats with vote tallies of 2,985 and 2,828.

Saco City Councilors Roland Michaud and Ronald Morton faced off for the mayor’s job, with Michaud winning by a vote of 4,887 to 1,501.

Scarborough voters returned Town Councilor Carol Rancourt to office with 4,627 votes, while Jessica Holbrook defeated incumbent Richard Sullivan Jr. and Michael Hogland by winning 3,770 votes. Sullivan garnered 3,354 votes, while Hogland collected 2,433 votes.

Donald Russell defeated James Morris by a vote of 2,096-1,899 for a term on the Topsham Board of Selectmen.

Wilma Stanchfield defeated two challengers to win a two-year term on the Milo Board of Selectmen. Stanchfield received 365 votes, compared to 246 and 181 for the other two candidates.

South Berwick voters elected David Webster over three other candidates for a two-year term on town council. Webster received 1,106 votes to easily defeat his challengers.

Oakland Town Councilor Dana Wrigley collected 1,151 votes to win re-election in a seven-person race for two open seats. Donald Borman received 1,011 votes to finish second.