(from the January 2010 Maine Townsman)

Thomas “Randy” Cannon has been returned to his job as Van Buren town manager following an agreement he reached recently with the new town council. Last fall, the former council voted 3-2 to remove him from office; however, some town residents and the two dissenting councilors questioned the legality of the action. The three councilors who voted to fire Cannon, including the council chairman, were removed from office in a special recall election on December 11. The new five-member town council voted unanimously to reinstate Cannon.

Tammy Cunningham has been named the new Chelsea town clerk after working for a Gardiner law firm as a legal assistant and bookkeeper. Cunningham, 44, will work 35 hours a week. Her sister, Theresa Haskell, is Windsor town manager.

After four years in the job as Old Orchard Beach public works director, Mary Ann Conroy has been hired as public works commissioner for the town of Kittery. Conroy began her new duties in late December. She was commended by OOB officials for her expertise, accomplishments and professionalism.

Robert “Bob” Farrar has been named interim Bangor city manager to replace Edward Barrett, who started his new job as Lewiston city administrator in early January. As assistant city manager, Farrar has worked in the manager’s office for two decades and was seen by councilors as the obvious choice to fill in while the council searches for a permanent replacement for Barrett, who managed Bangor for 22 years. Before taking the interim position, Farrar announced that he was not a candidate for the permanent one.

Wiscasset selectmen have reached a severance agreement with Town Manager Arthur Faucher. The board in early January named assessor Sue Varney as deputy town manager. She will assume many of Faucher’s duties until the agreement is official.

Longtime Oxford County Administrator Carole Fulton has retired after almost 30 years of service. She will be replaced by former Bethel Town Manager Scott Cole.

Former Eastport City Manager George “Bud” Finch has agreed to continue working on a week-to-week basis while the city council searches for his replacement. Finch resigned after 14 years on the job, effective December 31, because he did not think the council supported him. Some three dozen residents attended the early January meeting that solidified Finch’s new agreement. The council hopes to have a new full-time manager by late March or early April.

Former Freeport Fire Chief Dwight “Lib” Libby Sr. died January 3 at the age of 65. Libby served the town as fire chief from 1977 to 1983 and led the department from an all-volunteer crew to a largely full-time staff. He served as a volunteer for the department after his retirement.

Madison Fire Chief Roger Lightbody Sr. will replace Robert Higgins as Somerset County Emergency Management director. Lightbody has been involved with the Madison Fire Department for almost 25 years, the last 13 as chief. Higgins served as county EMA director for eight years before retiring on December 31.

Greenville Police Chief Scott MacMaster has been named Richmond chief, effective January 19. MacMaster has worked as chief in Greenville since July 2007, and previously served as a patrolman in Hallowell and Gardiner. While in Greenville, MacMaster, 35, was cited for bravery for diffusing a gun incident before anyone was injured.

Machais Animal Control Officer Kevin Nelson has agreed to add the town of Steuben to his duties, effective in early December.

Linda Pagels-Wentworth has been named town manager in Baileyville. A former city manager in Calais, Pagels-Wentworth has served the past three years as Washington County’s first manager.

Diana Hills has been appointed town clerk in Lincoln by the town council. Hills has served as interim town clerk since August.

Eric Horn has resigned as a selectman in the Town of Peru. He was in the first year of a term that expired in June 2012.

More November 3 election results:

Biddeford Mayor Joanne Twomey easily defeated three other candidates to win re-election with 4,100 votes. The closest vote-getter was David Flood with 2,640. In the seven-candidate race for two at-large city council seats, Patricia Boston and incumbent George Lamontagne collected the most votes with 2,816 and 2,428, respectively. Incumbent James Emerson narrowly kept his Ward 1 seat by defeating his challenger by 24 votes. Meanwhile, David Bourque won the Ward 2 seat. Six incumbent councilors were re-elected including: Pete Lamontagne (at large), Rick Laverriere (Ward 6), Bob Mills (Ward 5 and the new council president), Ray Gagnon (Ward 7) and Clem Fleurent (Ward 3).

Hallowell City Council President Charlotte Warren was elected mayor, defeating Dot Mithee by a vote of 822-519. Mithee served on the council from 2002 to 2008. Warren replaced outgoing Mayor Anthony Masciadri.