(from the June
2007 Maine Townsman)

David Milligan and Lawrence Michaud were elected without opposition to three-year terms on the Ashland Town Council.

Paul Paradis defeated Greg Veilleux by a vote of 647-439 to replace outgoing longtime Bar Harbor Town Councilor Valerie Scott.

Louis Burnham and Bruce Engert defeated Boothbay Harbor incumbent selectmen Richard “Earl” Brown and Gary Farnham.

Oscar Gammon beat Rogert Bennett and Christopher Hayward for a seat on theBuckfieldBoard of Selectmen, garnering 141 votes compared to Hayward’s 97 and Bennett’s 30.

Hope McCabe was re-elected with 73 of the 157 votes cast in Hartford, defeating Dale McNeil and Steven Elsman, who received 48 and 23 votes, respectively.

Also, Warren Bryant defeated Brent Thomas Goding and Kurt Hawes for a single seat on the Jay Board of Selectmen, collecting 335 votes to Godings’ 317 and Hawes’ 44.

Mexico incumbents Arthur Bordeau and George Byam won re-election to three-year terms on the board of selectmen with 219 and 254 votes, respectively, defeating former school board director Elizabeth Jorgensen, who garnered 185 votes.

Also, New Gloucester incumbents Steven Libby collected 350 votes and David Lunt received 320 to beat back challenges from newcomers Eugenia Sawin, who received 293 votes, and Christopher Rhealt, who collected 284.

NorwaySelectman Chairman Robert “Bobby” Walker, who suffered a major stroke and lost his home to fire in the past year, was defeated by former Selectman Irene Millett, who served the town from 1996 to 2000 and who collected 402 votes. Bruce Cook received 284 votes to claim the second open seat on the board, while Walker garnered 202 votes and Joseph Tracy Sr. received 78.

David Ivey and Glen Young both received 589 votes to win two seats on the Paris Board of Selectmen, defeating chairwoman Barbara Payne, who received 350 votes.

In Rumford, Bradley Adley and Frank DiConzo collected 890 and 755 votes, respectively, to defeat incumbent selectman Jolene Lovejoy (659 votes) and challenger Ron Theriault (681 votes) to win two seats on the board of selectmen at a time of continued strife and personality divides on the board.

Also, Jeffery Burgess defeated incumbent Standish Selectman Elizabeth Edwards by a vote of 555-237, and Wayne Newbegin out-polled Larry Simpson by a vote of 592-273 to claim two seats on the town council.

Turner voters elected three new selectmen to replace three who resigned in May for personal reasons. Former journalist Jody Goodwin claimed the two-year seat by defeating three challengers; Joan Bryant-Deschenes won the one-year seat after besting Richard Keene; and Kurt Youland ran unopposed for the three-year term.

Chris Chase and Richard Clark defeated six other candidates for two seats on the Wells Board of Selectmen.

Irv Faunce defeated Wilton incumbent Selectman Rodney Hall by a vote of 321-240, while incumbent Russell Black retained his seat over challenger Douglas Hiltz, 425-222.

An estimated 100 Maine firefighters attended the May 10 funeral of Peter Beebe-Lawson, a Springfield volunteer fireman who was killed while returning from fighting a fire at a Prentiss township business May 7. Beebe-Lawson, who was 50 years old, was buried with full honors on a family plot about two miles from the sharp corner on Route 169 where he apparently lost control of the fire truck he was driving and crashed into trees.

Roseanna “Rosie” Bradley has been hired as the new planner for the town of Fairfield. Bradley, 39, is former executive director of the Rumford-based River Valley Growth Council and its affiliated technology center.

Former Mechanic Falls Town Councilor William “Bill” Diehl received a standing ovation at the annual town meeting in mid-May after stepping down after 30 years of service on the board.

South Portland City Manager Ted Jankowski resigned in late May after the city council launched an inquiry into complaints against the manager, which were first broached publicly in March by the city attorney. Jankowski was hired last September.

Ken Paradis, animal control officer for the town of Jefferson, has been hired as a backup ACO for Whitefield. Selectmen are concerned that valid complaints are going unanswered.

John White has been appointed town manager in West Paris. White had served several years as administrative assistant to the board of selectmen in Durham.

Turner’s Town Clerk and interim manager, Eva Leavitt has been hired as town manager there.