(from the
June 2006 Maine Townsman)

Bruce Keller, city planner in Augusta for the last eight years, has accepted the position of town planner in Skowhegan. Keller, who lives in Whitefield, was to begin his new duties on June 5.

Superintendent of Richmond schools, Dennison Gallaudet has resigned. Gallaudet’s resignation is effective on July 1. The town’s school department leader since 1999 has decided to return to the private sector, having been a banker for 16 years before taking on the superintendent’s position.

Recent municipal elections in a few small Aroostook County communities had Stephen Stiles and Peter Cheney elected to the Blaine Board of Selectmen; David Cambridge elected to a three-year term as selectman in Chapman; Susan McPherson and Robert Glidden elected to the Westfield Board of Selectmen; and Bruce Flewelling, Michael Cory and Paul Dudley securing seats on the Easton Board of Selectmen.

In Brewer, Perry Antone has been sworn in as the new police chief replacing Steven Barker who retired effective May 1 after serving nearly 30 years with the city’s police department. Antone was a lieutenant with the department prior to being selected as the new chief.

Turner Fire Chief Steven Fish has resigned. Fish has been the town’s fire chief for the past 11 years. His resignation was delivered to the board of selectmen at their meeting on May 1 and effective immediately. Assistant Chief Shane Arsenault was appointed interim chief until June 30.

Voters in Gray narrowly rejected the removal of Town Councilor Andy Upham in a recall election on May 9. The final tally was 776 against the recall with 746 supporting it.

James Toner, community services director in Waterville, has resigned to accept a position with the University of Maine at Farmington. Toner has headed up the city’s recreational programs for the past 18 years. His new job is fitness and recreation director for the university.

South Thomaston selectmen have appointed Bryan Calderwood as fire chief. Calderwood has been with the department for 14 years. He has also served with the Portland and Rockland fire departments. He succeeds Wayne Brown, who resigned after serving 16 years as chief.

Incumbent Harry Tomah and Joan Mooney were elected to the Wells Board of Selectmen in late April. They were elected from a field of five candidates for the two positions on the board.

Longtime Winslow Town Manager Ed Gagnon has announced that he will be retiring effective November 1. Gagnon has served as Winslow’s town manager for more than 27 years and has a total of 38 years in municipal administration. He and his is wife, Janet, who works for Maine Municipal Association, plan to move to Arizona this fall.

Mary Sabins, former town manager in Windsor and Hope, has been selected as the new town manager in Chelsea. Sabins replaces Lynette Eastman who resigned in February.

Lawrence Pye has defeated incumbent Michael Rice for a seat on the Phippsburg Board of Selectmen. This is the first public office held by Pye, who is just 26.

Bowdoinham selectmen have decided to give Kathy Durgin-Leighton the permanent town manager job. Durgin-Leighton has been serving as interim manager since William Giroux left to accept the city manager position in Bath. She has worked for the town in various capacities since 2002.

Voters in Lisbon have elected members of their first town council. In November of last year, residents approved replacing town meeting with a representative form of government. The new seven-member council includes current selectmen Layne Curtis, Michael Bowie and E. Charles Smith along with Gina Mason, Janet Henry, Norma Wells, and Dale Crafts.

Bertrand Kendall is the new town manager of Denmark. He is also the town’s first manager. He began his new duties on June 1. Kendall, who has seasonal ties to the area, brings over 30 years of municipal management experience in New Jersey to the job.

Paul Napolitano has been elected to the North Yarmouth Board of Selectmen. Napolitano, owner of an excavation company, defeated incumbent Richard Brobst for the position.

Christine Therrien has been named the new town manager in Madawaska. Therrien has been town manager in Machias for the past four and a half years.