(from the
March 2006 Maine Townsman)

Former Lewiston Mayor John Jenkins has joined the race for Governor of Maine. Jenkins was mayor from 1993 to 1997. He is running as an independent.

Monmouth has hired James Minkowsky as interim police chief. Minkowsky is a police sergeant in Lewiston, currently on a three-month “loan” from that police department.

The Town of Lincoln has appointed David Cobb as interim and part-time fire chief. A former Randolph fire chief, Cobb is a firefighter, paramedic and acting lieutenant with the Augusta Fire Department. Cobb will be helping Lincoln’s town manager work through some fire department management problems, and will help select a full-time chief. Cobb intends to be a candidate for the full-time, permanent position when it is filled. Former chief Joshua Williams resigned effective February 20 after five months on the job.

Caroline Mitchell, town clerk in Burnham, will retire from this position of 36 years. Mitchell was a recipient of the Ethel Kelley Memorial Award in 1999.

Goodwin Hannaford, Hollis selectman, resigned from the board on February 24 after serving for six weeks. This comes after residents recalled two selectmen in an election in December. The board is down to two selectmen.

Chelsea Town Manager Lynette Eastman resigned her post February 13 after serving for 10 months.

Bath’s city council has hired William Giroux as its city manager. Giroux has been town manager of Bowdoinham since June 2000. He signed a four-year contract with Bath on February 22.

A former selectman in Camden, Dave Miramant is seeking election in District 46 of the state House of Representatives in November.

David Nichols, Jr. was elected as selectman in Wiscasset on February 21. Wiscasset has a five-person board of selectmen.

Hope Town Administrator Jerry Storey changed his retirement date of July 1 to February 22 because of pending surgery. Meanwhile, the town administrator’s job duties will now include part-time code enforcement responsibilities.

Knox County Administrator Jane Desaulniers resigned her post after approximately six months’ service, citing personal reasons. Commissioners have met in closed session with William Post, town manager in Damariscotta, to potentially fill the position. Post had been runner-up to Desaulniers when she was hired in August 2005.

Jeffrey Murphy and Joseph O’Donnell, selectmen in Strong, resigned from the board on February 14 and Selectman Roger Corson has withdrawn his nomination papers for re-election at the March town meeting.

Voters in Lamoine returned two incumbent selectmen to office in balloting on March 7. Josephine Cooper and Brett Jones were the top vote-getters in a four-way race for two seats on the board of selectmen.

Jeffrey Jordan, South Portland city manager for the past 10 years, has announced that he will be resigning from the job in July. Jordan spent 10 years as assistant city manager in South Portland before taking on the manager position. Jordan said his decision to step down was "a choice to change lifestyles". "It's time to regain some balance between our professional and personal lives," he said.

Gordon Weil, chairman of the Harpswell Board of Selectmen, has announced that he will resign from the board in June.

Wallagrass Town Manager Bonnie Lamarre was charged with theft of town funds, and has since resigned her position. More than $100,000 is reportedly missing. The case is under investigation.

Former mayor of Biddeford, Lucien “Babe” Dutremble died February 7.

Frederick French, 81, who served nine years on the Newcastle Board of Selectmen during the 1980s, has died.

Former mayor of Caribou, Lucinda “Cindy” Hebert died February 10.