(from the
May 2006 Maine Townsman)

Voters in Ogunquit chose write-in candidates Jonathan Speers and Donato Tramuto to fill two open seats on the board of selectmen on April 1. Then on April 4, John Miller was named chairman of the board.

In Durham, Clifton Larrabee Sr. was re-elected road commissioner for his 17 th year. Michael VanDerWerf was elected to a three-year term on the board of selectman.

Incumbent Selectman Lewis “Mike” Swallow was re-elected to the board of selectmen in Oakfield.

Running unopposed in New Limerick, incumbent Tana McNutt was re-elected to another three-year term on the board of selectmen.

In Saint Francis, Charles Ouellette, Benny Nadeau and Louise Martin were re-elected on March 27 to one-year terms on the board of selectmen.

A write-in candidate, Gerald Dow was elected as selectman in Perham, defeating veteran selectman Ellie Snyder.

In Easton elections on April 3, Bruce Flewelling was elected to a two-year term on the board of selectmen, and was joined by incumbents Michael Corey and Paul Dudley, both elected to three-year terms on the board.

The Bath City Council has confirmed the appointment of Michael Field, a lieutenant with the police department, as acting police chief for the city. Field will fill the vacancy created by the recent resignation of long-time Police Chief Pete Lizanecz. Field has been with the local police force for 18 years.

In Saint John Plantation on March 30, former assessor Patrick Nadeau and incumbents Norman Marquis and Levite Gene Ouellette were elected to the board of assessors.

Raymond Seames has resigned as Greenwood’s fire chief, a position he held since 1998. Ken Card, the assistant chief, will lead the department until a new chief is hired. Seames reportedly will stay on with the fire department, but not as chief.

Topsham Town Planner Rich Roedner will be adding to his duties as he has been appointed to a staff position with the Topsham Redevelopment Authority, working to develop a plan for the Navy Annex once the Brunswick Naval Air Station closes. The town’s planning office will be hiring a temporary, full-time assistant planner to help out for the duration of the local redevelopment authority’s work.

Dave Milligan and William Lothrop have been re-elected to three-year terms on the Ashland Town Council.

In Washburn, Jeff Wark was appointed as town council chair. Incumbents Mike Umphrey and Kermit Fuller were re-elected as councilors.

Amanda Simpson was hired as a town planner for New Gloucester effective April 27. James Isaacson, the town’s first full-time planner, resigned February 7.

In South Thomaston, Fire Chief Wayne Brown resigned. Brown was fire chief for 16 years, and has been with the fire department since he was 16.

Steve Walker, a natural resources planner for the town of Brunswick, has resigned his position to work as a biologist with the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.

In Jay, Steve McCourt and Amy Pineau were both elected to serve three-year terms on the board of selectmen.

Longtime St. Albans Town Manager Larry Post has been given his job back. At the beginning of 2006, the St. Albans Board of Selectmen chose not to renew Post’s employment contract. The March elections resulted in a change in the composition of the board of selectmen and the new board has decided to give Post his old job back.

Dana Lee, Mechanic Falls Town Manager and former president of MMA, will step down from his town manager position effective June 30. Lee served as town manager there for 16 years. Lee plans to work as a facilitation consultant and in the real estate field.

In Turner, Charlie Mock and incumbent Lawrence House were elected to the board of selectmen on April 7.

Mitchell Berkowitz has been hired as town manager of Bridgton, replacing the late Ronnie Belanger. Berkowitz recently served as town manager of Gray, preceded by 15 years of service in Berlin, NH – first as parks and recreation director, then as city manager.

Presque Isle Fire Chief Jim Krysiak has been dismissed by City Manager Tom Stevens for violating city rules related to expense reimbursements. Stevens’ decision was affirmed by the city council following an executive session on April 11.

MMA President and St. Agatha Town Manager Ryan Pelletier has been granted the Healthy Maine Partnership Local Healthy Hero Award on April 3 in recognition of his extensive wellness-related efforts and achievements within his community and area.

Peter Wass has been hired as the administrative assistant to the board of selectmen in Surry. Wass had been Harrington’s administrative assistant.

At the March 18th town meeting in Jackson, six-year Selectman Cindy Ludden was elected to another three-year term, and Richard Johnson became the town’s first (single) road commissioner. Prior to this year, the selectmen had served as road commissioner.