Municipal Leadership Program Graduates 29
(from Maine Townsman, November 2000)
by Jeff Nevins, Director of Communications & Educational Services, MMA

    Last year the Maine Municipal Association and the University of Southern Maine’s Muskie School of Public Service announced a unique new professional development program for municipal officials.  The Municipal Leadership Program – which consists of four sessions held quarterly on various University of Maine system campuses – was designed to enhance the leadership skills of Maine’s municipal officials and to help them prepare for the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century.

       The first year of the Municipal Leadership Program was a great success.  At this year’s MMA convention we recognized the first year’s graduating class of 29 municipal officials from all over Maine and announced plans for another program in 2001.

       The following is a list of the graduates of the first program: John Arsenault, Town Councilor, Freeport; Christopher Bowring, City Council/Mayor, South Portland; Stephen Brown, Selectman, Carthage; Peter Coughlan, Planning Board, Randolph; Kevin Doering, Selectman, Monmouth; Greg Dore, Road Commissioner, Skowhegan; Cheryl Durgan, Welfare Director, Bath; George “Bud” Finch, City Manager, Eastport; Don Guimond, Town Manager, Fort Kent; Andrew Hart, Town Manager, Union; Warren Hatch, Town Adminstrator, Damariscotta; Rod Hathaway, Town Council, Veazie; Martin Hipsky, Selectman, Stetson; Margaret Hollingsworth, Selectperson, Kennebunkport; Sylvia Hudson, Assistant Town Manager, Pittsfield; Mike Huston, City Manager, Hallowell; June Irvine, Administrative Assistant, Fryeburg; Jesse Jacques, Selectman, Bingham; Betty Johnson, Selectperson, Lincolnville; Daniel L’Heureux, Town Manager, South China; William Lundrigan, Town Manager, Rangeley; Dennis McLellan, Town Council, Oakland; James Murphy, Jr., Municipal Assessor, Union; Linda Pagels, Town Manager, Gouldsboro; Ryan Pelletier, Town Manager, St. Agatha; Pamela Poggenpohl, Town Council, Windham; Robert Stackhouse, Councilor, Pittsfield; Janet White, Selectperson, New Portland; and Roberta Williams, Councilor, Bath

       MMA has recognized for a number of years that many municipal officials have been interested in receiving advanced professional development programs to assist them in dealing with the many complex issues they face.

       We are excited to offer this new program again in 2001. The partnership we have established with the Muskie School (and with the University of Maine system) will continue and our hope is to expand the offerings to municipal officials.  This partnership has been formally recognized as the Maine Academy for Municipal Leadership and a steering committee was formed to provide advice and suggestions for future programming.  The Academy will sponsor the Municipal Leadership Program and these expanded offerings to assist municipal officials in addressing the many challenges they face.

       Information about the program is available on MMA’s web site at We are hopeful that 30 – 35 municipal officials will again participate in the program next year.  We plan to recognize the graduates of the program at next year’s MMA Convention that will be held October 11, 2001 in Augusta.

       We encourage you to learn more about this program.  Because of the limited space available for this program we anticipate if will fill-up quickly. If you have questions or need more information feel free to contact Jeff Nevins at MMA at 1-800-452-8786.